What’s it like to be a new attending?⠀

First off, I am surprised by how NICE everyone is. I think in residency some of the frustration comes from being treated poorly on the regular. Even though my residency was really amazing in a lot of ways, there’s this overarching feeling of being inferior to others even when you have years of education under your belt. In comparison, people at my work are super nice. They say nice things, ask how I’m doing and if I need anything, and have been really accommodating with my future schedule for when Braden (my husband) will be in Florida for fellowship. I can’t say I’ve ever been treated this nice, and I hope it lasts! ⠀

Braden has been working really long hours on his joints rotation. Throughout the last four weeks he’s been going in at 4:30 and coming home after 8 pm a lot of the days. It’s hard to see him work so hard and be in Vegas, but he says I wouldn’t see him even if I was in Loma Linda. Sigh. 

Someone asked me what I do with my free time now that I have some. I’ve been mostly studying for written boards and trying to do some workouts. I have a picture of Alex Morgan saved to my phone to inspire me 😂⠀

Anyway, hope you all are well. Just wanted to give an update ❤️ ⠀

#ophthalmologist #newattending#orthopedicsurgery #resident#livelikearesident